Hurricane Giveaway

To help get you prepared for this hurricane season we’re giving away this Energizer emergency battery kit.  If you win you’ll get a flashlight, battery-powered radio, cell phone charger and extra batteries.  Even if you don’t win, you should be prepared for a power outage with one flashlight per person in the family and additional batteries.  Don’t use candles, approximately 15,000 house fires are caused by candles. In 2008 many residents were without power for a few days to several weeks because of Hurricane Ike.  To win the kit simply respond to this post with a way your family prepares for the hurricane season or something you’d like to do different to make sure you are ready for any storm.   

52 Responses

  1. Something I would like to do different this year, actually purchase supplies in advance of a storm scare.

  2. We’ve set up a “storm closet” where we store everything that we’d need during a hurricane. The closet also has an hanging shoe rack, and we store batteries, flashlights, first aid products and other severe-weather must-haves in the pockets.

  3. We are setting up a storm room for the season. It contains all the required items packed in plastic tubs which also can be easily loaded into the car if we need to leave.

  4. My major plan? Make sure that my wife and I both have enough of our prescription medications to get us through the evacuation period. we learned the hard way about getting refills while evacuated.

  5. One thing I am doing different this year, I am taking all my important papers and PDF them and save them to a stick drive so we do not have as much to carry. (No more large bulky black box)

  6. We keep lots of water, batteries and canned food including hand can opener on hand along with flashlights. Also we keep extra dog and cat food for our pets.

  7. At the end of Hurricane Ike I made a list of things that I wished I could have had. Bug Spray and Batteries were #1 and #2 on my list followed by air freshner and battery operated fans.

  8. Last year was my first experience with a hurricane. I did not know what to expect. This year is I plan to stock-up on all size batteries to be prepared for radio, utensils, flashlights, etc. Also, thinking about getting a portable generator. Being from California, I much prefer “earthquakes”.

  9. I’m always prepared but I’ve added eyeglass protection after a 13 year old neighbor stepped outside after Ike and a nail scratch his eye.

  10. Make sure you have lots of bottled water (or stored in containers). We also fill up the bathtub to be able to flush the toilet. Make sure you have some tarps to cover the roof to keep rain out. We had damage during Ike and put it on during the aftermath and kept some water out! We also have oil lamps that we used in addition to candles for light.

  11. We’re buying lots of little bottles of water. We bought large ones last year but they kept leaking. We’ll drink the little bottles during the winter, so they won’t go to waste.

  12. I would get gas cans before the hurrican…like I just bought 3. Extra gargabe bags…heavy duty contractor clean up size and thickness.

  13. reading a hurricane preparedness guide my mom gave to both of us teenageres to read

  14. I am not a Texas native and never had to deal with hurricanes before moving here. I have listened to all the advice from the experts and have always tried to prepare well for hurricane season. During Hurricane Ike, the one thing that I did that was very helpful was to have about $100 in $1 bills and another $100 in $5 on hand. In the first week after the hurricane, as businesses were reopening, many could not make change. Having small bills, along with some large bills, was very helpful in not having to overpay for goods and services until the banks could reopen. That is definitely one practice I will continue for each hurricane season.

  15. We have a baby, a pool, and the majority of the windows in our house face the gulf. We drain the pool and pack up our most valuable positions and evacuate to Dallas. Because of the baby, I don’t and would not put my child through that traumatic experience of going through the storm and being without power or water. Luckily, we have not had any damage from either Rita or Ike. However, it is better to be safe than sorry.

  16. Partner with your neighbors. Working together is one of the best ways to make it through a tough storm. If you miss something on your check list or need something unexpected, then they may have it to share. A DC to AC power converter is a good/cheap must have for your cell phones.

  17. We always start and end the day monitoring the weather just in case we need to make preparations like securing/relocating outdoor furniture, potted plants, grill etc.

    Joy

  18. I always have a Hurricane Checklist to make sure all items are fresh, such as batteries. We have a gym bag filled with camping gear, since it is a lot like camping if the electricity goes out. One big help…. a small flashlight on a necklace!!! Very helpful after you flick the lightswitch for the tenth time….habit….and then you remember the electricity is OUT.

  19. this year I will get a push carpet sweeper, with five pets I nearly lost it with the shedding! Apparently, I can live with just about anything but the lack of the ability to vacuum daily

  20. After Ike we learned the need to have plenty of water, canned foods, propane and most importantly, games for children. Made it an adventure – camping @ home. Need the same things as when we go camping – just for a longer amount of time.

  21. We have taken hurricanes very serious since having children. The children know where to go in the event of a tornado. They help us prepare the supplies needed to live in the days after a hurricane. They were bummed out the last time because our lights came back on within hours of the storm. They were excited to play games in the dark.

  22. Just prior to hurricane season and during the season whenever I am grocery shopping or in home improvement store, I always pick up a package of batteries and gallon of water and a non-perishable item, so I have supplies on hand if needed and I am not waiting to the last minute rushing to the store trying to stock up trying to with the crowds or being overwhelm with the expense if you wait to the last minute. And if not use during hurricane season, I then can use items during the rest of the year because the water you can always use and I make sure the food items I buy are things the family will eat and of course batteries are always needed especially during Christmas season.

  23. In the weather proof emergency bag.

    Hand held GPS
    Prepaid Cellular Telephone
    Satellite Telephone
    Solar and Hand Operated Battery Chargers
    AM/FM/Shortwave Radio
    Battery Operated TV (tuned to KPRC)
    First Aid kit
    Hand Rechargeable Flashlights
    Disposable Underwater Camera
    Mulit-Tool (knife, pliers, screw driver, etc.)
    Solar Blanket/Pohcho
    Dust Mask
    All Weather Writing Paper & Pen

  24. My family and I learned with hurricane Ike to make sure that you plenty of batteries of all sizes. We also dicovered if you have a kit in place make sure that you update it with current clothing that does fit if you have little ones the kids will appreciate you double checking the sizes for them.

  25. I listen to the weather and stay on top on what is going on. Water, battaries, snacks and dog food is purchased and placed together if I have to gather my things to leave. Insurance and other important papers are copied and placed to the door that I plan to go out of in a folder.

  26. I will make sure I have purchased a regular old-fashioned telephone which is not battery operated. I will have lots of bottled water stocked up ahead of time. I will start purchasing one extra pack of water every week so I have plenty on hand before I actually need it. I will replenish my battery supply because I have lots of batteries left over from last year but the common sizes like AA and AAA, I will need to replace because we have used them up during the year.

  27. I have to say we were pretty prepared with Hurricane Ike and will do the same for this hurricane season. We had the extra water (Ozarka left extra bottles), plenty of can goods (used coupons and bought ahead of time), batteries galore, and candles. We were blessed to have some electricity and plenty of light during the hurricane. My husband had an inverter box that he had plugged into a car battery (ran the spare car motor off and on daily). This inverter was rotated between our refrigerator and freezer so we had cold items and very little thawed meat during the 7 days without main electricity. He was even able to run his florescent lights for much needed lighting. Lastly, we had some news coverage via our little 9 inch black and white portable TV ( did not have cable). He was able to use a power pack of some kind to plug into TV. How very blessed we were to have news coverage and some comfort during this dreadful time.

  28. Have an extra propane tank for grill if electricity goes out.

  29. Battery-operated vans were the best investment last time! Just make sure you have extra batteries.

    • FANS that is!! 😉

  30. I pay attention with what is going on and prepare things that I will need. I purchase batteries of different sizes that I will need, gather all important papers, have water, snacks and dog food ready in a certain spot incase I have to leave my home. Arrangements have already been made with friends in the Austin Area for me and my boxer to come their way.

  31. Last hurricane that blew threw here kept my wife (a baby nurse)at the hospital for almost two weeks. My daughter and I weathered the storm at home with our dogs and cats. We had prepared ourselves with plenty of bottled water and dry meals we could prepare on a propane stove. Also having fully cooked meats in the freezer helped. Portable dvd players and some boardgames for entertainment and plenty of batteries and working flashlights. As for the animals plenty of dry food and extra can food, animals tend to get really stressed any bad weather.Of course filling up both cars with gasoline was a must and any gas cans we had. Plenty of clean towels and any extra sanitary supplies you can afford will help. Most importantly, a battery charger that can jumpstart a car and has ac/dc outlets for charging cell phones and nintendo DS’s. The only thing I wish I had more of was ICE!!!!

  32. Have already gone to Sam’s and picked up 12 packs of C & D size batteries to fit the combo Radio/light, as well as a “spare pack” for elderly neighbors who live across the street….Just in case. Start stockpiling each week non-perishable foods, extra water to have on hand. We purchase a case of small propane bottles to feed the camp stove we’ve used to cook meals on during the outage w/Ike. In our “Hurricane Storage” we also have packs of cards, hand held games *inc batteries* and don’t forget the pets, extra dog/cat food and treats to help them combat the stress.

  33. We purchased a generator and extra gas cans. We do not want to be without any power again like with Ike. I also like to start stocking a few extra canned goods around this time.

  34. we always have bottled water, canned food, batteries, medicines, etc. we we have a generator for emergency power. we keep important papers on the second floor in a water proof container. we keep the yard clean to prevent flying debris. we keep the storm drains clear just in case. however if it were a cat 5 we will evacuate. i went through Alicia and learned the hard way to be prepared.

  35. sounds great to me!

  36. I always have plenty of batteries and keep an old radio that gets tv sound when I have no house power. Plenty of canned goods and an old fashioned can opener helps. I have a propane camp stove and extra cylinders for my back yard grill.

  37. I would like to prepare better this year – making sure we have necessities on hand and not waiting until the last minute to rush to WalMart!

  38. We too try to store extra canned food, water, dry foods (like crackers,cookies, cereal, etc.) A manual can opener, oil lamps and extra oil are indispensable. They have come in handy even in short power outages over the years, and are much safer to use than candles. During Ike the neighbors here helped each other. We had a generator so could refrigerate perishable medicine for one neighbor. Get to know your neighbors, they will likely be there when it’s hard to reach friends and family.
    As soon as a storm enters the gulf we monitor TV weather and internet NOAH weather reports. If the storm is going to be a bad one we have plans to leave.

    • Sorry that should have read NOAA weather repoorts.

  39. I want to get one of those big ice chests that keeps food cold for 5 days.

  40. Have on hand plenty of bottled water,canned meats, veggies and fruit. Cereal, shelf stable milk, juice, medications that you may need. Board games, card games, books and puzzles for the daylight hours save the handhelds for after dark. Lots of different size batteries, flash lights (two per person). Pet food for those who have pets. Last a landline(which most folk no longer have) an old fashioned plug in the wall phone! Cell phone batteries dont last forever and lets not forget when the circuits are busy/down and cordless phones just don’t work without POWER!

  41. Could always be prepared with the kit!

  42. Congratulations to Chris Neuman and Phil Hart winners of the emergency battery kit. E-mail your address to anthony@kprc.com

  43. Thanks, Anthony! This was fun and I learned a lot from my fellow viewers- some great ideas shared here will be put to immediate and good use!

  44. I have an evacuation route plan. I looked at fema.gov and found out which streets flood and which ones don’t. Not exactly an easy map to navigate but it is worth it. I live in Friendswood and know how to get to 45 without having to go through any major flooding. I am ready!!!!

  45. What I would do is make sure we have gasoline for our generator. Already had a generator and chainsaw, but it was tough finding fuel on the NE side of town. Also, my husband and I have a plan of where to meet if we are separate for some reason because of a hurricane or some other type of emergency.

  46. I will prepare by purchasing water, batteries, non perishible food items, and gasoline in advance. Last year we waited until we were facing the storm, and stood in long lines, and found empty shelves in many cases.

  47. I do not start preparing until the very end. I keep a watch on what the reporters are saying and if it looks like it is still coming our direction and has not shifted that is when I finally start preparing. Basically a day before it is predicted to hit. I make sure we have gas in all our vehicles. I then start packing. I will pack up my pictures and important papers along with all my valuables. I also start heading to the store to buy water, tuna, cookies, chips..snacks. Then I start to secure our windows and put towels by the back doors and window seals and put away items in the yard that could fly and then pray that all this goes away!!!!

  48. We pack the car with the important papers, cd of the house items which is updated every year. We also have the cat cages down and ready to go with litter, food, bowls, water and towels. The car is in the garage and ready to go. All we have to do is pack the cats and go. We also have a list of all the people we need to contact to let them know where we are and that we are ok. So incase your cell phone dies you have the actual list you can use at the place you are staying. The kids get a bag ready of there stuff, clothes, valuables, stuff they want to take.

  49. In June I start saving Ice from the ice maker in ziplock bags. Ice and batteries are always the first to go at the store, so I like to have those way in advance. I stay stocked up on ice. I have all of our important paperwork in the Extra Large ziplocks as well as I pack up our valuables and sentimental items into plastic tubs. We have our portable Radio and flashlights prepared. If a Hurrican is announced to be heading into the gulf, we stock up on perishable items. If a Hurricane is predicted to come our way, we then start planning for a direct hit. So we begin preparing plastic tubs with necessities, clothes etc. Tubs that are easy to grab and throw into the truck or van if we have to evacuate. We also prepare our ice chest and purchase items to secure our home and windows.

  50. we have metal shoe racks at home and we use it to hold those large boots and heavy leather shoes ”.

Leave a Reply

